• background

The struggle of man against power is the struggle of memory against forgetting.
Milan Kundera

The historical background for A LONG WAY HOME is made up of two defining phases in recent Chinese history: the Democracy Movement of 1989 and the Cultural Revolution of 1966-1976. Beginning with present-day China, A LONG WAY HOME moves deeper into the «heart of darkness» of Chinese history. The focus is on how people handle historical and biographical ruptures and how they process traumatic experiences.

During the Cultural Revolution (1966-76), systematic violence was employed to eliminate everything private and to destroy social relationships. Mao Zedong and the Party relied on betrayal, public humiliation, self-incrimination, and re-education in everyday life. Mistrust and deep insecurity continue to shape relationships among people in China today.

In the film, the Democracy Movement of 1989 stands in direct opposition to the Cultural Revolution. What began as a student protest in Beijing soon grew into a sweeping movement uniting people of diverse social backgrounds. The first spontaneous mass movement outside party structures, it showed initial signs of a possible civil society that would not be able to germinate until after Mao’s death.

The violent suppression by the People’s Army was a clear sign from the regime that the protest was not welcome and that public criticism of the Party would not be tolerated – a condition that continues to this day.

• Hintergrund

Der Kampf des Menschen gegen die Macht, ist der Kampf der Erinnerung gegen das Vergessen.
Milan Kundera

Den historischen Hintergrund für A LONG WAY HOME bilden zwei prägende Phasen der jüngeren chinesischen Geschichte: die Demokratiebewegung von 1989 und die Kulturrevolution von 1966 – 1976. Ausgehend vom heutigen China bewegt sich A LONG WAY HOME im tiefer ins «Herz der Dunkelheit» der chinesischen Geschichte. Im Zentrum steht dabei die Frage wie Menschen mit historischen und biographischen Brüchen umgehen und wie sie ihre traumatischen Erfahrungen verarbeiten.

Mit systematischer Gewalt wurde während der Kulturrevolution (1966-76) alles Private eliminiert und die sozialen Beziehungen zerstört. Mao Tsetung und die Partei setzten im Alltag auf Verrat, öffentliche Demütigung, Selbstbezichtigung und Umerziehung. Das Misstrauen und die tiefe Verunsicherung prägen bis heute die Beziehungen unter den Menschen.

Als Gegenentwurf zur Kulturrevolution steht im Film die Demokratiebewegung von 1989. Was als Studentenprotest in Beijing begann, wuchs bald zu einer breiten Bewegung, der sich Menschen aus unterschiedlichen Bevölkerungsschichten anschlossen. Es war die erste spontane Massenbewegung ausserhalb der Parteistrukturen und zeigte erste Ansätze einer möglichen Zivilgesellschaft, die erst nach Mao’s Tod aufkeimen konnte.

Die gewaltsame Niederschlagung durch die Volksarmee war das deutliche Zeichen des Regimes, dass dies nicht erwünscht ist und die öffentliche Kritik an der Partei nicht geduldet wird – ein Zustand, der bis heute anhält.

gbf news

DVD Bestellung