• protagonists

The connecting element and main theme of the artistic works of Wen Hui, Pi San, Ye Fu and the Gao Brothers is a demand for the reconstruction of humanity throughout Chinese society. Looking back at their personal family histories, and thus recent Chinese history, takes on greater significance within the backdrop of their unease toward present-day Chinese society. Actively remembering is an important part of their work as they try to fathom the roots of present-day problems. Like researchers, they explore the possibilities of collective healing in their work.

WEN HUI – choreographer | dancer
In China, Wen Hui is considered the mother of modern dance. For years she has explored the topic of memory. In her current piece «Red», based on the propagandist ballet of the same name from the Cultural Revolution (1966-76), she processes the physical impact of this traumatic era.

PI SAN – animation artist
Pi San is known to millions in China for his subversive animated film series, which have caused a sensation on the Internet. Through his mischievous cartoon character «Kuang Kuang» he exposes the injustices and absurdities of everyday life in China. In doing so he must constantly gauge how far he can go with his criticism.

YE FU – writer | poet
The former police officer, who resigned in 1989 in protest against the suppression of the Democracy Movement, has made a name for himself in recent years with his autobiographical essays and blog articles which loudly demand political change.

GAO BROTHERS – visual artists | painters
Gao Zhen and Gao Qiang, known internationally as the Gao Brothers, have been around since the birth of the modern Chinese art scene in 1985. They belong to the group of critical avant-garde artists whose work reflects the complexity of recent Chinese history and the «human condition» in a globalized world.

gbf news

Order DVD

• Protagonisten

Das verbindende Element und gleichzeitig das Hauptthema des künstlerischen Schaffens von Wen Hui, Pi San, Ye Fu und den Gao Brothers, ist die Rekonstruktion einer Menschlichkeit, die sie für die ganze chinesische Gesellschaft einfordern. In ihrem Unbehagen der heutigen chinesischen Gesellschaft gegenüber kommt der Aufarbeitung ihrer persönlichen Familiengeschichte und damit auch der jüngeren Geschichte Chinas ein bedeutender Stellenwert zu. Sich aktiv zu erinnern, ist für sie ein wichtiger Teil ihrer Arbeit, die zu ergründen versucht, woher die Probleme in der Gegenwart stammen. Wie Forscher loten sie in ihrer Arbeit die Möglichkeiten einer kollektiven Heilung aus.

WEN HUI – Choreographin | Tänzerin
In China gilt Wen Hui als die Mutter des modernen Tanzes. Seit Jahren beschäftigt sie sich mit dem Thema der Erinnerung. In ihrem aktuellen Stück «Red» verarbeitet sie, ausgehend vom gleichnamigen propagandistischen Ballett aus der Kulturrevolution (1966-76), die körperlichen Prägungen dieser traumatischen Zeit.

PI SAN – Animationskünstler
Pi San ist in China einem Millionenpublikum bekannt durch seine subversive Trickfilmserie, die im Internet für Furore sorgt. Mit seiner spitzbübischen Cartoonfigur «Kuang Kuang» deckt er Ungerechtigkeiten und Absurditäten des chinesischen Alltages auf. Dabei muss er immer ausloten, wie weit er mit seiner Kritik gehen kann.

YE FU – Schriftsteller | Poet
Der ehemalige Polizist Ye Fu, der 1989 aus Protest gegen die Niederschlagung der Demokratiebewegung den Dienst quittierte, hat sich in den letzten Jahren mit seinen autobiographisch geprägten Essays und Blogs, die lautstark nach politischer Veränderung rufen, einen Namen gemacht.

GAO BROTHERS – Bildende Künstler | Maler
Gao Zhen und Gao Qiang, international bekannt als Gao Brothers, sind seit der Geburtsstunde der modernen chinesischen Kunstszene im Jahr 1985 dabei. Sie gehören zur Gruppe der kritischen Avant-Garde Künstlern, deren Arbeiten von der Komplexität der jüngeren chinesischen Geschichte und der «condition humaine» in einer globalisierten Welt erzählen.

gbf news

DVD Bestellung