go between films

go between films

Posts Tagged ‘stellungnahme’

ALWH – Statement Director

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Under «materials» you can find documents that provide additional information to the films of «go between films»

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

A Long Way Home

Statement Director –
Luc Schaedler

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

«My exploration of China and Chinese culture goes back more than 25 years now. Since the brutal suppression of the Democracy Movement in 1989, I’ve traveled through China several times. I have followed its economic development and subsequent political and social upheaval with both amazement and bewilderment.»

«The deeper I delved into the country the more I learned about its grim history, the effects of which can still be felt in China today. Along the way one question has arisen time and time again: What do external events, ruptures and changes trigger in people, and how does it impact their daily lives?»

«China also always inspired me to think about my own world. Taking a close look at another culture can cause you to see your own in a new light. This was a view also held by French ethnologist and philosopher Claude Lévi-Strauss who felt both encounters and confrontations with a foreign culture give us an opportunity, or stronger yet, a responsibility to look at and question one’s own society.»

«In «A Long Way Home»  I ask myself from the perspective of a Swiss filmmaker, where the protagonists find the courage to expose themselves. How would I behave in their situation? How are we each shaped by our past? And finally: How is it possible that the essence of many of the existential problems they are confronted with seem surprisingly familiar to me, despite our vast cultural differences?»
Statement director – Luc Schaedler

Interview with Luc Schaedler in Dharamshala, India

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Statement Director - luc schaedler - Statement-Director

© go between films – Luc Schaedler filming the Gao Brothers in their home in Beijing, 2016

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Filmtalk with Luc Schaedler in «Landbote» (by Irene Genhart)

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Statement Director - Vimeo on Demand - Luc Schaedler - Statement-Director       ALWH-Statement-Director - YouTube - go between films

 

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

→ home
→ films
visual anthropology
company
streaming & dvd
materials
contact

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––


WaMa – Statements Director

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Watermarks

Some thoughts

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

«Since the crushing of the democracy movement in 1989, I have followed the upheaval in China with equal parts amazement and irritation: the country looks like a huge construction site and seems to be involved in a precipitous search for itself. In this unstable present the protagonists are taking tentative but courageous steps into the future.»
Luc Schaedler


Statements to the film

During the research for «Watermarks» and the subsequent filming in China I kept returning to a topic that had preoccupied me in my earlier films: namely, how people respond to external events, ruptures and life changes, and what this means to them in their daily lives. I took this question to heart in my new film and continued my search for answers. After Made in Hong Kong (1997) and Angry Monk (2005), the current film Watermarks · 2013 also marks the end of my Asian Trilogy.

My relationship to China

My relationship with China began over 20 years ago. Since the crushing of the democracy movement in 1989, I have travelled repeatedly through China. I have followed China’s economic development and the associated political and social upheavals with equal parts amazement and irritation.

The social changes triggered by fast-paced economic development unsettled the people. They registered the growing pollution of the environment and water with concern. Entire landscapes as well as a part of their own family history and the cultural history of China were punctiliously ‘flooded’ by progress. My love-hate relationship with China is reflected in the ambivalence of many Chinese, who are simultaneously proud of and disconcerted by developments in their country. These are the contradictory feelings that I have attempted to capture in my film.

The collaboration with Markus Schiesser

In the project Markus Schiesser was responsible for the interviews with the protagonists as well as sound. To complete the research (2009/2010) and filming (2011), we travelled together for months through China and shared in the everyday lives of the protagonists. Markus and I made a good team. His relationship to the people grew out of his quiet ease and the fact that he speaks fluent Chinese. This brought him a great deal of respect. He was simultaneously an insider and an outsider. I was the stranger, as well as being more extroverted and louder. I had to build my relationship with the people through non-verbal means, by gestures and looks.

In a cultural and political situation which treats the spoken word with caution and relegates most things to the deeper level of trust, we complemented each other ideally. Markus Schiesser studied Sinology and ethnology in Zurich and China. For over 12 years he has lived and worked in Beijing and Shanghai. He is married to a Chinese woman. We have been friends since the Zurich youth riots of the early 1980s.

Our working method

Water is the visually binding element in the film. Like a river, it flows through the individual scenes, stories and interviews. In China it makes sense to comport oneself like water. Wherever it flows, one lets it go, and wherever it is dammed, one gives way to it and finds another route. In this sense, time and patience are very important factors. What appears to be obvious whenever one works with people in a film turns out to be doubly important in China, for cultural and political reasons.

In China, if you want to get close to the people, you have to give yourself a lot of time. It is a complicated but not unpleasant ritual, during which you spend weeks building up trust, step by step: a first conversation, a second one, drinking tea, smoking, chatting, eating together, slowly getting to the point and always coming back to another toast. The first contact, and how you behave at that point, is crucial.

Statements director – Luc Schaedler

WaMa-Statements-director - Watermarks

Markus Schiesser, Chongqing

WaMa-Statements-director - Watermarks - WaMa - Statement Director

Luc Schaedler, Wusutu

→ Facebook.com/watermarksthefilm

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

WaMa-Statements-director - Watermarks - WaMa - Statement Director       WaMa-Statements-director - YouTube - go between films - WaMa - Statement Director

 

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

→ home
→ films
visual anthropology
company
streaming & dvd
materials
contact

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––


AM – Statement Director

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Angry Monk

Statement Luc Schaedler

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

 

Why Gendun Choephel

«The idea for the film «Angry Monk» originated during several trips to China, Tibet and India between 1988 and 1999. Without being aware of it, I travelled to the same places that the protagonist of the movie visited 50 years before. Since 1988 I have been studying the country of Tibet and how the western world perceives it. And I repeatedly came across the name of Gendun Choephel.»

A wanderer between worlds

«Gendun Choephel (1903-51) was a wanderer between worlds — at once a dreamer, a rebel and a researcher. He lived in a time that was decisive for the future of his country, between the British colonial invasion of 1903 and the occupation by the Chinese army in 1951. At that time Tibet wasn’t the inaccessible Shangri-La that people often claim, but a torn country on the verge of big changes. Tibet’s attempts to introduce a new social structure and to find its own way into the twentieth century failed because of the resistance of the conservative nobility and the monasteries.»

Breaking the isolation

«As Tibet moved towards isolation, Gendun Choephel was open to new experiences. We can trace his path through his writings, articles, pictures and sketches. He looked at his own society in a critical way, was interested in political issues and tried to apply them to everyday life; he was, therefore, the initiator of critical and intellectual thought within Tibetan society.»

Becoming a role model

«During his last years, Gendun Choephel became a role model for many young Tibetans in Chinese-occupied Tibet and also for those in exile in India. While their parents lost Tibet, the younger generation looked for role models that would allow a critical view of their own society. But the western world only slowly became aware of Choephel because his life story doesn’t mesh with our rigid image of Tibet, which prefers to portray Tibetans as victims rather than the makers of their own history.»
Luc Schaedler

Statement Director - Angry Monk - Luc Schaedler

Luc Schaedler, 2018

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Statement Director - Angry Monk - Luc Schaedler - Vimeo on Demand - go between films       Statement Director - Angry Monk - Luc Schaedler - YouTube - go between films

 

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

→ home
→ films
visual anthropology
company
streaming & dvd
materials
contact

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––


UA-168799748-1

Posts Tagged ‘stellungnahme’

ALWH – Stellungnahme Regie

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

→ In der Sektion «materials» sind Dokumente gespeichert, die zusätzliche Informationen zu den Filmen von «go between films» zur Verfügung stellen ←

A Long Way Home

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

ALWH – Stellungnahme Regie: Der Beginn meiner Auseinandersetzung mit China liegt mittlerweile über 25 Jahre zurück. Seit der brutalen Niederschlagung der Demokratiebewegung von 1989 bin ich wiederholt durch China gereist. Ich habe die ökonomische Entwicklung und den damit verbundenen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umbruch Chinas ebenso erstaunt wie irritiert mitverfolgt.

Je tiefer ich in das Land eintauchte, umso mehr habe ich auch über die düstere Geschichte und ihre Auswirkungen bis heute erfahren. Dabei bin ich immer wieder auf ein Thema gestossen, das mich schon lange beschäftigt: Die Frage, was äussere Ereignisse, Brüche und Veränderungen im Leben von Menschen auslösen, und was dies für sie in ihrem Alltag bedeutet.

China war für mich immer auch eine Inspiration über meine eigene Welt nachzudenken. Der sorgfältige Blick auf eine andere Gesellschaft, lässt die eigene in einem neuen Licht erscheinen. Ganz im Sinne des französischen Ethnologen und Philosophen Claude Lévi-Strauss, der in der Begegnung aber auch der Konfrontation mit dem Fremden die Möglichkeit oder stärker noch, die Verantwortung sieht, sich mit der eigenen Gesellschaft zu befassen und diese zu hinterfragen.

Aus meiner Perspektive als Schweizer Filmemacher frage ich mich, woher die ProtagonistInnen ihren Mut nehmen, sich zu exponieren? Wie würde ich mich in ihrer Situation verhalten? Wie sind wir selber geprägt von der Vergangenheit? Und schliesslich: wie kommt es, dass mir viele der existentiellen Probleme, mit denen sie konfrontiert sind – bei aller kulturellen Distanz – überraschend vertraut vorkommen?

Luc Schaedler beijing a long way home


WaMa – Stellungnahme Regie

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Watermarks

 

WaMa – Stellungnahme Regie: „Seit der Niederschlagung der Demokratiebewegung im Jahr 1989 verfolge ich den Umbruch Chinas ebenso erstaunt wie irritiert: das Land gleicht einer Grossbaustelle und scheint sich auf der überstürzten Suche nach sich selbst zu befinden. In dieser vertrackten Gegenwart unternehmen die Protagonisten zaghafte und zugleich mutige Schritte in die Zukunft.“ (Luc Schaedler)

ZUM THEMA DES FILMES Während der Recherche und den Dreharbeiten in China bin ich immer wieder auf ein Thema gestossen, das mich bereits in meinen früheren Filmen beschäftigt hatte: Die Frage, was äussere Ereignisse, Brüche und Veränderungen im Leben von Menschen auslösen, und was dies für sie in ihrem Alltag bedeutet. Daran habe ich in meinem neuen Film angeknüpft und nach weiteren Antworten gesucht. Nach MADE IN HONG KONG (1997) und ANGRY MONK (2005) ist der aktuelle Film WATERMARKS (2013) auch der Abschluss meiner Asien-Trilogie.

MEINE BEZIEHUNG ZU CHINA Der Beginn meiner Auseinandersetzung mit China liegt über zwanzig Jahre zurück. Seit der Niederschlagung der Demokratiebewegung von 1989 bin ich wiederholt durch China gereist. Ich habe die ökonomische Entwicklung und den damit verbundenen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umbruch Chinas ebenso erstaunt wie irritiert mitverfolgt.

Die sozialen Veränderungen, ausgelöst durch die rasante ökonomische Entwicklung, verunsichert die Menschen. Beunruhigt registrieren sie auch die zunehmende Verschmutzung der Umwelt und des Wassers. Ganze Landschaften, und damit ein Teil der eigenen Familiengeschichte und der Kulturgeschichte Chinas, werden durch den Fortschritt förmlich „überschwemmt“. Meine Hassliebe zu China spiegelt sich in der Ambivalenz vieler Chinesen, die gleichzeitig mit Stolz und Unbehagen auf die Entwicklung ihres Land blicken. Diese widersprüchlichen Gefühle habe ich versucht filmisch einfangen.

DIE ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT MARKUS SCHIESSER Im Projekt hat Markus Schiesser neben den Gesprächen mit den Protagonisten auch den Ton gemacht. Für die Recherche (2009/2010) und die Dreharbeiten (2011) sind wir während Monaten gemeinsam durch China gereist und haben mit den Protagonisten den Alltag geteilt. Markus Schiesser und ich waren ein gutes Team. Seine Beziehung zu den Leuten lief über seine Ruhe und darüber, dass er fliessend Chinesisch spricht. Dies brachte ihm grossen Respekt ein. Er war gleichzeit Insider und Outsider.

Ich war ganz der Fremde, auch extrovertierter und lauter. Meine Beziehung zu den Menschen musste ich über das Nonverbale aufbauen, durch Gesten und Blicke. In einer Kultur und einer politischen Situation, die dem Wort mit Vorsicht begegnet und viel auf eine tiefere Ebene des Vertrauens setzt, ergänzten wir uns ideal. Markus Schiesser hat in Zurich und China Sinologie und Ethnologie studiert. Seit über 12 Jahren lebt und arbeitet er nun in Beijing und Shanghai. Er ist mit einer Chinesin verheiratet. Wir sind seit den Zürcher Jugendunruhen der frühen 80er-Jahre befreundet.

UNSERE ARBEITSMETHODE Wasser ist das visuell verbindende Element im Film. Wie ein Fluss zieht es sich durch die einzelnen Schauplätze, Geschichten und Gespräche. In China macht es Sinn, sich wie Wasser zu verhalten. Dort wo es fliesst, lässt man es laufen und dort, wo es sich staut, weicht man aus und sucht sich neue Wege. Dazu ist der Faktor Zeit und Geduld ein ganz wichtiger Aspekt.

Was für jede Drehsituation mit Menschen selbstverständlich erscheint, ist in China doppelt wichtig, aus kulturellen und politischen Gründen: Wenn man in China nahe an die Leute herankommen will, muss man sich sehr viel Zeit nehmen. Es ist ein kompliziertes aber nicht unangenehmes Ritual, in dessen Verlauf man Schritt für Schritt während Wochen Vertrauen aufbaut: Ein erstes Gespräch, ein zweites, Tee trinken, rauchen, plaudern, gemeinsam Essen, langsam zum Thema kommen und immer wieder mit Schnaps anstossen. Der erste Kontakt, und wie man sich dabei verhält, ist zentral.

→ Facebook.com/watermarksthefilm
→ Youtube.com/gobetweenfilms

Luc Camera

Luc Schaedler, Wusutu

Markus Sound

Markus Schiesser, Chongqing


AM – Stellungnahme Regie

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Angry Monk

Die Idee zum Film ANGRY MONK – REFLECTIONS ON TIBET geht auf mehrere Reisen nach China, Tibet und Indien zwischen 1988 und 1999 zurück. Ohne es zu wissen, bewegte ich mich damals an denselben Orten wie der Protagonist des Films — über 50 Jahre vor mir. Seit 1988 beschäftige ich mich nun intensiv mit Tibet und vor allem damit, wie Tibet im Westen wahrgenommen wird.

Gendun Choephel (1903-51) ist ein Wanderer zwischen den Welten – gleichzeitig Träumer, Rebell und Forscher. Er lebt in einer historischen Periode, die bestimmend für die Zukunft seines Landes ist — eingeklammert durch die Invasion der britischen Kolonialisten 1903 und den Einmarsch der Chinesen 1951. Tibet ist damals nicht das unzugängliche Shangri-La, wie oft behauptet wird, sondern ein zerrissenes Land an der Schwelle des Wandels. Die Versuche die veralteten Sozialstrukturen aufzubrechen und einen eigenen Weg ins 20. Jahrhundert zu finden, scheitern am Widerstand des konservativen Adels und der Klöster.

Während sich Tibet abschottet, bleibt Gendun Choephel offen für neue Erfahrungen. Über seine Schriften, Artikel, Bilder und Skizzen hat er Spuren bis heute hinterlassen. Durch die kritische Beobachtung der eigenen Gesellschaft, die Hinwendung zu politischen Themen und dem Versuch, sie im Alltag umzusetzen, verkörpert er die Anfänge eines kritischen intellektuellen Denkens innerhalb der tibetischen Gesellschaft.

In den letzten Jahren wurde Gendun Choephel sowohl im chinesisch besetzten Tibet wie auch im indischen Exil zu einer Identifikationsfigur junger Tibeter. Während die Eltern Tibet verloren haben, sucht die jüngere Generation nach Identifikationsfiguren, die einen kritischen Blick auf die eigene Gesellschaft erlauben. Im Westen jedoch wird er nur langsam wahrgenommen, weil seine Lebensgeschichte offenbar nicht in unser starres Bild passt, welches die Tibeter lieber als Opfer und nicht als Agenten ihrer eigenen Geschichte sieht.

Luc Schaedler