Posts Tagged ‘teaching’

Teaching-Mentoring

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

University

Teaching-Mentoring

Luc Schaedler of go between films works as freelance lecturer since 2001. In addition to workshops and lectures at international universities – among them Vancouver, New York, Vienna and Berlin – he is regularly teaching and mentoring at Zurich University and the University of the Arts (film department). His emphasis lies in the fields of documentary filmmaking (theory and practice), cultural anthropology, with a special focus on visual anthropology, as well as Tibet (history and Buddhism).

Most recently (2013) two seminars at the Institute of Social Anthropology at the University of Berne (Switzerland): Introduction to Visual Anthropology (The Classics of Ethnographic Filmmaking) and The Ethnographic Interview (Theory and Exercise).

2009/10 Luc Schaedler has been involved in the Triangle Project, a cross-cultural exchange workshop between the film departments of the University of the Arts (Zurich), the Dramatiska Institutet (Stockholm) and the Theatre Academy of Shanghai.

My paper ↓ The little differences about the workshop can be downloaded from here.

A film by Yun Long Song
(CH 2011, 10 Min., English)

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Mentoring

In his position as lecturer at the University of Zurich, Luc Schaedler has been mentoring the visual degrees (MA) of the students in the department of Visual Anthropolgy since 2006. The mentoring included the critical discussion of each proposal, productional and technical support as well as support during the editing, postproduction and promotion of the films. Luc Schaedler also initiated a colloquium for anthropology students in which they present and discuss their visual projects in different stages of the making (ongoing).

The films were screened at the ethnographic student film festival Regard Bleu in Zurich and/or were invited to the Solothurner Filmtage in Switzerland (2007-2010):

Promised Land (Balz Alter, CH 2010, 35 mins., MA, UniBa) • Chokora – Surviving on the Street (Lea Furrer, CH 2010, 50 mins., MA, UZH) • Arranged Love (Sarah Bregy, CH 2010, MA, UZH) • Por Amor (Isabelle Stüssi, CH 2009, 68 mins., MA, UZH) • Life in Bubbles (Nadine Lüchinger, CH 2009, 50 Min., Lizentiat, UZH) • Put Mira (Gian-Reto Gredig, CH 2008, 87 mins. MA, UZH) • The Cave of Justin (Mélanie Pitteloud, CH 2008, 52 mins., MA, UZH) • In A Whiteman’s Kontry (Balz Arter, CH 2008, 25 Min., Seminar, UniBa) • The Achuar (Elsner/Bissegger, CH 2008, 52 Min., MA, UZH) • Shanghai Manners (Claudia Jucker, CH 2007, 19 mins., Diploma, HSLU)

In A Whiteman’s Kontry – German
(Balz Alter, CH 2008)

Chokora – Surviving on the Street (Filmstill)
(Lea Furrer, CH 2010)

Chokora WS

Filmstill from “Chokora”, Kenya 2009

Posts Tagged ‘teaching’

Lehraufträge-Mentorat

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Universität

Lehraufträge

Luc Schaedler von go between films arbeitet seit 2001 als freier Dozent. Neben Workshops und Vorträgen an internationalen Universitäten – darunter Vancouver, New York, Wien, Berlin, Göttingen und Hamburg – sind es vor allem regelmässige Lehraufträge an der Universität Zürich und an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK). Die thematischen Schwerpunkte liegen im Bereich des Dokumentarfilmes (Praxis und Theorie), der Ethnologie mit Fokus auf die Visuelle Anthropologie und Tibet (Geschichte, Buddhismus).

Die aktuellsten Lehraufträge (2013) waren zwei Seminare am Institut für Sozialanthropologie der Universität Bern (Schweiz): Einführung in die Visuelle Anthropologie (Die Klassiker des ethnographischen Filmes) und Das ethnographische Interview (Theorie und Praxis).

2009/2010 Triangle Projekt, ein dreiteiliger Kulturaustausch-Workshop zwischen StudentInnen der Shanghai Theatre Academy, dem Dramatiska Institutet Stockholm und der ZHdK in Zürich.

Mein Artikel ↓ The little differences – EN zum Worksshop kann hier runtergeladen werden.

Ein Film von Yun Long Song – EN
(CH 2011, 10 Min., Englisch)

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Mentorat

In seiner Funktion als Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Zürich hat Luc Schaedler seit 2006 studentische Abschlussfilme (Lizentiate) im Fach der Visuellen Anthropologie begleitet. Die Betreuung umfasste die kritische Diskussion der Filmidee, technische und produktionelle Unterstützung, Schnittberatung und Hilfe bei der Auswertung der Filme. Im Rahmen eines Kolloquiums haben sich die StudentInnen in den verschiedenen Entwicklungsstadien ihrer Dokumentarfilme gegenseitig unterstützt und von den Erfahrungen der anderen inspirieren lassen.

Die Filme wurden am ethnologischen Filmfestivals Regard Bleu in Zürich gezeigt und/oder an die Solothurner Filmtage in der Schweiz eingeladen (2007-2010):

Promised Land (Balz Alter, CH 2010, 35 Min., Lizentiat, UniBa) • Chokora – Surviving on the Street (Lea Furrer, CH 2010, 50 Min., Lizentiat, UZH) • Arrangierte Liebe (Sarah Bregy, CH 2010, Lizentiat, UZH) • Por Amor (Isabelle Stüssi, CH 2009, 68 Min., Lizentiat, UZH) • Leben in Seifenblasen (Nadine Lüchinger, CH 2009, 50 Min., Lizentiat, UZH) • Put Mira (Gian-Reto Gredig, CH 2008, 87 Min. Lizentiat, UZH) • La Cave à Justin (Mélanie Pitteloud, CH 2008, 52 Min., Lizentiat, UZH) • In A Whiteman’s Kontry (Balz Arter, CH 2008, 25 Min., Seminar, UniBa) • Die Achuar (Elsner/Bissegger, CH 2008, 52 Min., Lizentiat, UZH) • Shanghai Manners (Claudia Jucker, CH 2007, 19 Min., Diplomfilm, HSLU)

In A Whiteman’s Kontry – Deutsch
(Balz Alter, CH 2008)

Chokora – Surviving on the Street (Filmstill)
(Lea Furrer, CH 2010)

Chokora WS

Filmstill aus „Chokora“, Kenya 2009